A simple explanation of Paranoia

When you someone has Paranoia, and asks you for help, what would your first reaction be? Do you just brush it aside? Are they simply overthinking things? Or are they just weirdos?

I have made it a resolution of mine for 2016 to overcome my paranoid thinking. This usually only occurs to me in a bad way but specifically only when I don’t sleep the whole night before.

image

The next day I will start having pervasive paranoid thoughts about how people are appraising me, especially in a crowded space or among strangers. But if I sleep it off. The feelings n thoughts go away.

I realised that paranoid thoughts come about due to overly emphasing the importance of random associations and deriving meaning from these links. It usually also is due to an insecurity or a strong emotion that is being felt by the person.

What do I mean? For example, John is having the paranoid thought that the lady sitting next to her in the train thoughts he smelt bad. He thinks so because the lady kept rubbing her nose and then got up one stop after he sat next to her. The emphasis on the association between John’s smelliness and the lady’s action of rubbing her nose.. which again is associated with not liking his body odour and her getting off quickly also being linked up, are the assumptions that a paranoid person makes.

I think these are probably made due to the person’s underlying feelings of insecurity or other strong emotions like anger or jealousy.

That’s why the paranoid thoughts are so trechant and difficult to dismiss despite having people try to convince you that you are just “thinking too much”, a phrase I think is too loosely used and may not help much. The emotions behind it are real but the paranoia is not.

Hope that these thoughts about this topic were meaningful to you. What do you think? Do comment If u have any ideas about It.

Here’s some Garbage in the meantime:

3 thoughts on “A simple explanation of Paranoia

  1. I’m really glad that you’ve decided to work towards overcoming your paranoid this this year. My paranoia was never very bad, so I can’t say I understand how it feels like to make such a resolution, but I know that making any such decision is never easy. It’s not going to be an easy path either, so if you ever need a shoulder or a hand, let me know. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had severe paranoia last year when one of my colleagues have been sentenced to 18 months prison. That was the trigger and within a couple of days I slowly lost touch with reality. I thought that the people on the street are undercovered police officers who are monitoring my every step; a friend of mine called me every day and I thought he is a spy and collects information me for the police, I thought that my psychiatrist is taking part in the conspiracy as well…it was horrendous as I did not trust anybody…eventually the antipsychotic medication helped to clear my thinking and now I am fine. Although I realised that caffeine, alcohol, and not sleeping can trigger paranoid thoughts so I gave up caffeine completely and trying to sleep enough.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. God has redeemed us from sins and deliver us from all evil. We are covered by his precious blood which makes us protected from any bad things that others may want to do.
    I believe when your mind is set on this, you wont have any paranoia anymore. Because you know that know one can harm u. Another thing is everything in this world is about God for all things were created from, through and for him. You dnt have to worry what other people may think about u as long as you are doing good before God, nothings matters more than that.
    John 16:33 
    “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”
    John 15:19 
    If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world. That is why the world hates you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

